Posted on 2 Comments

Śṛṣṭi – Creation (continued)

After the Supreme Being had, as Brahmā, revitalized the earth with its mountains and continents, he began creating objects and beings who inhabited the three worlds of Bhū, Bhuvaḥ and Suvaḥ. Although all created beings (of these realms) were destroyed in nimitta-pralaya, their respective accumulation of merits and . . .

Signup for free to read more content


2 thoughts on “Śṛṣṭi – Creation (continued)

  1. what exactly do we mean by the three worlds : bhu, bhuva and suvah? Can you briefly explain it in layman terms, please?

    1. ‘Bhūḥ, Bhuvaḥ, swaḥ’ which follows the ‘Omkāra’ of Gāyatri mantra are called as vyāhrtis (sacred syllables that which shed light on our knowledge of the universe) are explained in Taittiriya Upanishad as: bhuḥ – ayam lokaḥ (this world here in front of us, Prithvī); bhuvaḥ – Antarikṣam (the mid region); and suvaḥ –asau lokaḥ (the world beyond, Dyaus). This concept is highly profound and is interpreted to be the triads seen in our scriptures like ‘Agni, Vāyu, Āditya’, ‘Sat, Chit, Ānanda’, ‘Prāna, Apāna, Vyāna’, ‘Brahma, Viṣnu, Rudra’ etc. They also find place in the explanations about Creation given in Upanishads like – Maitrāyani and Chāndogya.

      For more details please do check Śrimad Bhāgavata Purāna and other significant Upanishads for deeper understanding on Vedic Cosmology and Ontology. And we are glad enough to inform you that we have Rāmāyana, several Purānas and Upanishads in our pipeline to be published in the near future, which deal with many interesting Spiritual and Philosophical inquiries.

Comments are closed.